Chinese Medicine Division

Arrangements upon the deadline of submission of test reports for transitional registration of proprietary Chinese medicine

The Chinese Medicines Board (CMB) of the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong had issued a letter to Chinese Medicines Traders on 28th June 2006 regarding “Time for submission of product specification documents and general stability reports”. It had stated that proprietary Chinese medicines (pCm) eligible for transitional registration would be divided into two categories and have to submit the required documents to CMB, including product specification, certificate of analysis and general stability reports for the first batch of product before 30th June 2009 (ie. within 5 years from the deadline of application for transitional registration of pCm ) and before 30th June 2013 respectively according to its category.

Having regard to the situation of the trade, the CMB resolved in June 2013 to extend the deadline for holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" to submit product specification, method and certificate of analysis and general stability test report of the pCm from 30 June 2013 to 30 June 2015. For details, please refer to the Letter to Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" from the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong dated 26 June 2013 (Chinese version only). In addition, the CMB has formulated a set of arrangements regarding the processing of transitional registration of pCm to formal registration so as to expedite the processing. For details, please refer to the pCm to formal registration (Chinese version only) and the Letter to Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" from the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong dated 19 May 2014 (Chinese version only).

Having considered the latest situation of submission of reports by the trade, the CMB has decided to maintain the deadline of the submission of product specification, method and certificate of analysis and general stability test report. Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" should submit the above test reports for their pCm on or before 30 June 2015.

In addition, in order to safeguard public health and to avoid delaying the progress of assessment of the application for registration of pCm by the CMB, if holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" cannot submit quality documents of their pCm according to the above arrangements, the CMB will consider refusing the application at an appropriate time. For details, please refer to the Letter to Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" from the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong dated 13 May 2015 (Chinese version only).

衞生署中醫藥事務部

中成藥過渡性註冊申請提交品質標準化驗報告及一般穩定性試驗報告期限屆滿時的安排

香港中醫藥管理委員會中藥組曾於2006年6月28日就《提交品質標準化驗報告及一般穩定性試驗報告時間》向中藥商發出通函,表示符合過渡性資格的中成藥 可分為兩個類別分別於2009年6月30日前(即過渡性註冊申請截止日後五年內)及2013年6月30日前向中藥組提交所需的資料,當中包括品質標準化驗報告及產品的第一批「一般穩定性試驗報告」。

考慮到業界的實際情況,中藥組於2013年6月決定把「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人提交中成藥的品質標準化驗報告及一般穩定性試驗報告的期限由2013年6月30日延至2015年6月30日,詳情請參閱香港中醫藥管理委員會於2013年6月26日致各「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人的信函。此外,中藥組就過渡性註冊轉正式註冊申請制定了一套處理辦法,以加快處理過渡性轉正式註冊的申請,詳情請參閱中成藥過渡性註冊轉正式註冊申請的更新處理方案及香港中醫藥管理委員會於2014年5月19日致各「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人的信函。

經考慮持有人提交報告的最新情況後,中藥組決定維持有關持有人提交品質標準化驗報告及第一批產品的一般穩定性試驗報告的期限;即所有獲發「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人須於2015年6月30日或之前,提交相關報告。

此外,為保障公眾健康以及避免拖延中藥組審批註冊申請的進度,如有關獲發「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」的產品持有人未能按上述安排為其中成藥提交品質性資料及文件,中藥組會考慮在適當時候拒絕該申請,詳情請參閱香港中醫藥管理委員會於2015年5月13日致各「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人的信函