Chinese Medicine Division

End of product quality reports submission period for transitional registration of proprietary Chinese medicines

The Department of Health (DH) reminds the public that the Chinese Medicines Committee (CMSC) under the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong (CMCHK) has today notified the Chinese medicines traders who did not submit the required test reports by the deadline, that their applications for registration of relevant proprietary Chinese medicines (pCm) were refused.  The respective “Notice of Confirmation of Transitional Registration of pCm” (HKP) issued will become invalid on 17 Nov 2015.  By that date, these products should discontinue to be supplied or sold in the market.  The CMCHK will remove these products from the “Lists of applications for proprietary Chinese medicine registration” of the CMCHK website (http://www.cmchk.org.hk/pcm/eng/#main_dis.htm) on the same day.  Details about the affected products will also be uploaded to “What’s New” section (http://www.cmchk.org.hk/pcm/eng/#main_news.htm).

According to the Chinese Medicine Ordinance (Cap. 549)(the “CMO”), all pCms must be registered with the Chinese Medicines Board (“CMB”) under the CMCHK before they can be imported, manufactured and sold in Hong Kong.  To get registered in Hong Kong, a pCm must fulfil the registration requirements regarding safety, quality and efficacy as prescribed by the CMB.

Having taken into account the history and practical circumstances of the sale of pCms in Hong Kong, the CMO provides an arrangement of transitional registration.  For pCms manufactured, sold or supplied for sale in Hong Kong on 1 March 1999, registration could be made under the transitional arrangement (HKP).

HKP shall continue in effect until the formal registration of that pCm and the issue of the Certificate of Registration (“HKC”); or the refusal of the application for registration of that pCm; or such date as may be specified and promulgated by the Secretary of Food and Health by notice in the Gazette, whichever is the earliest.

The CMB has started to issue HKP since 31 March 2008.  Holders of HKP were required to submit product quality reports within the period specified by the CMB; otherwise, the CMB may consider refusing the application in accordance with the CMO.

As of today, holders of more than 90% of some 8,000 pCm issued with HKP have submitted the specified product quality reports.  For the remaining 361 pCms, the CMSC has issued today “Notice of refusal to pCm registration application” to their relevant holders, notifying the refusal of their applications for pCm registration, which shall take effect on 17 Nov 2015.

While the relevant pCms have not been shown to cause harm to human, members of the public should not consume unregistered pCms.  If needed, the public may surrender such pCm(s) to the Chinese Medicine Division of the Department of Health on 16/F, AIA Kowloon Tower, Landmark East, 100 How Ming Street, Kwun Tong, Kowloon during the following office hours for disposal :-

Office Hours:

  • Monday to Friday : 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
  • Close on Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays

To facilitate members of the public to access the information of pCms sold in the Hong Kong market, the CMCHK has provided on the website (http://www.cmchk.org.hk/pcm/eng/#main_dis.htm) searchable records of pCms, including information on pCms issued with HKP and HKC.  For any enquiries, the public may call the hotline set up by the DH at 3904 9130.

Chinese Medicine Division
Department of Health
12 November 2015

衞生署中醫藥事務部

中成藥過渡性註冊申請提交品質性報告期限屆滿

衞生署提醒市民,香港中醫藥管理委員會(管委會)轄下的中藥管理小組已於今天向有關未能在限期前為其產品提交所需報告的中藥商發出信函,拒絕其中成藥的註冊申請,而相關產品獲發的「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」(HKP)將於2015年11月17日失效。屆時,有關產品將不得繼續在市面供應及銷售。管委會將於同日把有關產品從其網頁的中成藥名單(http://www.cmchk.org.hk/pcm/chi/#main_dis.htm)中移除,並把上述被拒絕個案的資料上載於網頁的最新消息內,網址為︰http://www.cmchk.org.hk/pcm/chi/#main_news.htm

根據《中醫藥條例》(第549章)(《條例》),所有中成藥必須向管委會轄下中藥組註冊,方可在本港進口、製造或銷售。任何中成藥如要在本港註冊,均須在藥物的安全、品質及成效三方面符合中藥組所訂的註冊要求。

考慮到中成藥在香港的銷售歷史及實際情況,《條例》提供了過渡性註冊安排,即凡於1999年3月1日在香港製造、銷售或為銷售而供應的中成藥,可根據《條例》獲得過渡性註冊(HKP)。

HKP的註冊將有效至該中成藥獲正式註冊並獲發「中成藥註冊證明書」(HKC)、或正式註冊的申請遭拒絕、或由食物及衞生局局長於憲報公布的日期為止,以最早出現者為準。

中藥組已於2008年3月31日開始發出HKP。根據中藥組訂定的要求,HKP的持有人須於指定限期內提交訂明的品質性報告,否則,中藥組會根據《條例》拒絕其中成藥註冊申請。

截至目前為止,在八千多種已獲發HKP的中成藥產品中,超過九成產品的持有人已提交訂明的品質性報告。就餘下其中的361種中成藥,中藥管理小組於今天向相關持有人發出「拒絕中成藥註冊申請通知書」,通知其產品的註冊申請已遭拒絕,並於2015年11月17日生效。

雖然相關中成藥並非被發現對人體構成危害,但巿民不應服用未經註冊的中成藥。如有需要,擁有該等產品的市民可於下列辦公時間內,將產品送交九龍觀塘巧明街100號Landmark East友邦九龍大樓十六樓生署中醫藥事務部,以安排銷毀。

辦公時間:

  • 星期一至星期五:上午九時至下午五時半
  • 星期六、日及公眾假期休息

為方便公眾查閱可於香港市場銷售的中成藥資料,管委會於其網頁提供可供檢索的中成藥產品記錄,包括持有HKP及HKC等的中成藥資料,網址為︰http://www.cmchk.org.hk/pcm/chi/#main_dis.htm。市民如有任何疑問,亦可致電衞生署熱線電話(3904 9130)查詢。

衞生署中醫藥事務部
二零一五年十一月十二日